Captions and CapCut solve different problems. Captions is a caption-first AI editor: on 20 October 2026 its pricing page lists a free version with one caption template and no AI credits, then Max at US$24.99 a month, and its home page claims 100+ caption styles and 100+ languages. CapCut is a general video editor with captions as one tool: free to use, Pro at US$19.99 a month or US$179.99 a year, and its own pages disagree about whether auto captions need Pro. If you want a hundred animated caption looks on a phone and will pay monthly, Captions is the better fit. If you want to cut, layer and caption in one app and can live with a Pro prompt at export, CapCut is.
If you only want captions on a finished clip, neither is the cheapest route; the last section covers a third option with packs paid once. One access note: capcut.com returns HTTP 451 from India, where this was written, so every CapCut website fact below was read through a proxy render on 20 October 2026; the App Store listings and captions.ai were read directly.
Captions vs CapCut at a glance (20 October 2026)
| Captions (captions.ai and App Store, read directly) | CapCut (capcut.com via proxy render; App Store read directly) | |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | Free version with "a more limited feature set": 1 caption template, no AI credits, basic trimming and transitions | Free plan at US$0: "Free templates to start fast", "Basic editing tools"; caption tool page says speech-to-text is "free of charge" |
| What free exports | Not stated: no watermark policy on the pricing page | Not stated: no watermark or export-resolution line on the pricing or tool pages |
| Subscription | Max US$24.99 a month (500 credits); Frontier US$69.99, US$139.99, US$279.99; App Store also lists Captions Basic at $9.99 a month | Pro US$19.99 a month or US$179.99 a year (1,200 AI credits, 1 TB); Ultra US$79; App Store lists Standard at $9.99 and Pro at $19.99 a month |
| Caption languages, as claimed | "Captions in 100+ languages" on the site; "91+ languages" in the App Store description | "multiple languages", with translation; App Store lists 21 app languages, not a caption list |
| Caption styles | "100+ caption styles" on the home page; 100+ templates on paid plans, 1 on Free | "a variety of contemporary font styles and templates" and "a vast library of trending presets"; no count |
| Editing beyond captions | AI Edit, eye-contact correction, noise removal, filler-word trimming, dubbing in 29 languages | Full editor with timeline, templates and effects; exports a standalone SRT |
| Export quality | Not stated on the pages read | "download the footage in your chosen resolution"; App Store: "4K 60fps exports and smart HDR" |
| Watermark | Not stated by Captions | Not stated by CapCut; Captions' own post says CapCut's paid plans remove it |
| Platforms | Web browser, iOS; Android via Google Play (Captions' post calls it Captions Lite) | iOS, Android, desktop and web |
| Available in India | Yes | No, HTTP 451 |
Captions: what each app actually does with them
Captions was built around captions and still leads with them. Its App Store description promises to "Automatically generate accurate captions or subtitles in 91+ languages", with "specific fonts and colors too", and the home page counts "100+ caption styles". Captions' own comparison post, published 2 July 2026, calls the product "Built caption-first" with word-by-word animation. These are vendor numbers, and the two language counts do not match.
The catch is the free tier: one caption template and no AI credits. The 100+ templates sit on Max and Frontier, and on 19 October 2026 the same grid marked "Customizable captions" and "Download transcript" as paid only. The animated styles that make Captions famous are a paid feature. Is Captions.ai free walks through the free plan line by line.
CapCut treats captions as one tool inside an editor. Its auto caption generator page says speech-to-text is "free of charge", that captions "can be generated in multiple languages" and translated, and that it offers "a variety of contemporary font styles and templates". The add-subtitles page adds that CapCut can "export the standalone SRT file separately (both on desktop and online)", which Captions lists only as a paid transcript download. How to add subtitles in CapCut covers the steps and nine common fixes.
Do I need CapCut Pro for captions?
Sometimes, and CapCut only tells you at export. Its help article "What's the Difference Between CapCut Standard and CapCut Pro Subscription", dated 2 April 2026, lists "Advanced AI tools such as camera tracking, auto captions, AI avatars, and AI-generated content" under Pro. A second article, dated 3 April 2026, says a Standard user prompted to upgrade has usually used a feature "such as auto captions" that "includes Pro-only functionality", and that "when you try to export, the system will detect these premium elements and require a Pro upgrade". CapCut never names which caption functions are Pro-only. In our count of 161 Reddit threads about subtitle tools on 19 October 2026, 21 contained a post saying CapCut's auto captions had become paid or limited. Caption a 30-second clip and press export: a Pro prompt means those captions need Pro. Are CapCut auto captions free in 2026 has the full reading.
The rest of the editor
Captions' home page lists AI Edit, which cuts scenes, adds B-roll and applies a style to a whole video, plus eye-contact correction, noise removal, filler-word trimming and generated music and sound effects; the App Store adds AI Dubbing into 29 languages. All of it runs on AI credits, and Free has none, so on the free plan Captions is a trimmer with one caption template.
CapCut is a conventional editor: a multi-track timeline, templates, effects, keyframes and text tools, with camera tracking, avatars and AI-generated video behind Pro and credits. Its App Store listing says it "supports 4K 60fps exports and smart HDR" and lets you import fonts. It runs on iOS, Android, desktop and the web. Captions' own post concedes that CapCut has the broader free tier.
If you want the software to make editorial decisions, Captions is the more ambitious tool. If you want to make them yourself, CapCut is the more complete editor.
Price
Both apps are subscriptions with caveats. Captions' pricing page says "All prices displayed in USD. Features and prices reflect iOS plans only." Max is US$24.99 a month for 500 credits; Frontier is US$69.99 for 1,400, with 2x and 4x tiers at US$139.99 and US$279.99. A yearly plan "bills for 12 months upfront, at a discounted rate" with no figure shown. The App Store also lists a Captions Basic tier at $9.99 a month, $5.99 a week or $64.99 a year that is not on the website's grid. Credits are not minutes and the page gives no conversion, so there is no cost per captioned minute to quote.
CapCut's pricing page lists Pro at US$19.99 a month or US$179.99 a year, with 1,200 monthly AI credits and 1 TB of storage, under "Displayed pricing is for reference only. Sign in to see final pricing, taxes, and any applicable offers for your account." The App Store shows Standard at $9.99 and Pro at $19.99 a month, and a Yearly Subscription at $89.99 that does not match the website's US$179.99. Trust the checkout screen.
On list prices, CapCut Pro is US$5 a month cheaper than Captions Max, and CapCut's free plan does more. Captions' free plan is a trial rather than a working tier.
Is the Captions app worth it?
Yes, for one kind of creator: you post talking-head video from your phone, you want animated captions in dozens of looks, and you will use the AI editing, dubbing or translation enough to justify US$24.99 a month. Captions' 4.7-star App Store rating from 39K ratings on 20 October 2026 suggests that creator exists in numbers.
No, if captions are the only feature you would pay for. One template on Free and US$24.99 a month for the rest is a high price for captions alone, especially when the pricing page does not say whether free exports carry a watermark. The Captions app alternative page sets out the cheaper route.
Why are people leaving CapCut?
We have not surveyed CapCut users, so this is what can be checked rather than a verdict. CapCut's own pages disagree about whether auto captions are free, and the Pro check happens at export, the worst moment to find out. The AI features and premium templates sit behind a US$19.99 subscription that the pricing page describes as "all premium Pro features" without naming them. And CapCut has been blocked in India since 2020. None of that makes CapCut a bad editor; it makes its free tier hard to predict.
Is there any better app than CapCut?
Better for what. For editing, Edits by Instagram, VN, Adobe Premiere's mobile app, Clipchamp and DaVinci Resolve each beat CapCut on at least one point; the best CapCut alternatives roundup compares nine with dates and prices. For the most caption styles, Captions claims 100+ and charges for them. For captions alone, with no subscription, read on.
A third option: a browser caption tool with packs paid once
CapsAI does one job. Upload an MP4 or MOV of up to 10 minutes in a phone or desktop browser, pick one of 11 spoken languages (English, Hinglish, Hindi and eight more Indian languages), fix any word or timing in the editor, choose one of 37 caption styles, and export an MP4 with the captions burned in. The caption styles page shows all 37 moving; 8 are free and the other 29 unlock with any paid pack.
There is no subscription. A new account gets 3 free minutes to start, then packs are paid once: $4 for 20 minutes, $9 for 60 and $19 for 180 (₹49, ₹99 and ₹299 in India; €4, €9 and €19 in the euro area). Nothing renews. Watermark-free export comes with every paid pack, at 1080p on Starter and up to 4K on Creator and Pro.
| Captions | CapCut | CapsAI | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pricing model | Monthly subscription, credits | Monthly or yearly subscription, credits | Packs paid once, minutes |
| Entry price for styled captions | Max US$24.99 a month; Captions Basic from $9.99 in the App Store | Free, or Pro US$19.99 a month if export asks | $4 for 20 minutes |
| Caption styles | 100+ claimed, 1 on Free | A variety, no count | 37, 8 free |
| Languages | 100+ or 91+ claimed | Multiple | 11 spoken languages |
| Editing beyond captions | AI editing, dubbing, trimming | Full editor | None: no trim, crop or music |
| Subtitle file | Paid transcript download | SRT export | No, burned-in MP4 only |
| Runs on | Web, iOS, Android | iOS, Android, desktop, web | Phone and desktop browsers, no app |
Be clear about the trade. CapsAI has no trim, crop, music, translation or SRT download, and it stops at 10 minutes per video. If you need any of those, pick Captions or CapCut. If your clip is already cut, CapsAI gets captions on it in fewer steps for a one-time price. Why a browser beats a subtitle app explains the no-app choice, and the CapCut alternative for auto captions page compares the two directly.
What to do next
Run the same 30-second clip through both apps. In Captions, note which template Free gives you and whether the styles you want need Max. In CapCut, press export and see whether a Pro prompt appears. Then decide whether you are paying for an editor or for captions. If it is captions, upload the clip to the auto caption generator, read the draft against the audio, and spend the 3 free minutes before you spend anything else.
